Getting Drunk in Falmouth Town

Hello everyone, so, I have never blogged whilst drunk, not have I blogged past lunch time but I guess this is a first in both occasions considering it is 3am and I’m pretty drunk although I have sobered up a bit. I’m not sure what I really want to say in this post but I guess I should start at the beginning like most stories begin. I went out with a friend and her friends, it was a great night, however, we got separated after getting distracted by another friend coming in, however, she soon disappeared and I ended up alone. Sure, Falmouth town isn’t huge or anything and the crime rate is low, which was one of the reasons I was attracted to it, but ending up alone on a night out is shit and I felt crap.

I sat down on a step and was ready to accept the reality that that was probably going to be my bed. Then I saw another friend and I thought: ‘Yes! Maybe she can help!’ Nah mate, nah. Some guy starts grabbing my arm, asking me for a kiss. I tell him I’m not interested as I’m engaged. He grabs my hand and starts pulling on my bloody ring! There I was drunk and confused, with no idea what was going on but I did manage the words ‘get off me.’ He starts talking about how I cant let people tell me what to do; well, there we go. Hypocrite. Anyway, I stumbled on through town and the only friends awake had just gotten home. I went to the takeaway to try and sober up when he comes in and looks right at me. Luckily, he didn’t come over but I did get anxious. I grab my food and go. I sit down on a bench because I had too much food to carry (they really over filled it, it’s marvellous!) and yeah, I ate. I ate until a bloke came over and asked for something to smoke, but I don’t smoke. He asks for a light. Again, I don’t smoke. He sits down and tells me his mums passed and it’s her funeral tomorrow. I felt sad for him. He asks for my name and where I’m from, I tell him. ‘You’re from Yeovil? I come from Bridport!’

‘No way!’ I exclaimed. I was so happy, finally someone from back home. So we sat there and talked for maybe around half an hour, about home and it brought a real smile to my face. He mentioned a well known family from back home and I asked if he knew mine. ‘Nooooo. You’re a Wiltshire? You’re not!’

‘I am,’ I laughed. We both marvelled over Somerset and Dorset and he told me about how much better Somerset is to Cornwall and Devon. I agreed. He told me all these stories from around the home counties and it just made me want to go home even more. We agreed that Cornwall is lush, but it just ain’t home! Bless him, he kept thanking me for giving him the time of day (or night) but it was me that was thankful. I was sad, alone and ready to just give up, but he reminded me of who I am and where I come from and that’s something I need to remember more often.

He stood up at the end of a story, to leave and gave me a hug. He asked me if I had friends back home and I said I did. Stuff like that could never happen in Yeovil, and I was grateful for that group of absolute babes. He wished me home safe and thanked me again. I walked home crying tears of joy for finally meeting someone that was:

A. From back home way and knew what it was like to miss it as much as I did.

B. Was as drunk as I was.

C. Actually asked if I was ok.

I guess in writing this story, I’d like to give this bloke from Porthleven with the broken hand, a big thank you. He’s probably never going to read it, hell, I’d be surprised if anyone did, it’s just another drunk white girl rambling, but it’s really nice to know that there is kindness in this world. No matter what your background is, no matter what colours you’ve painted your past with, there will always be someone out there that will make your day, or night, so much better and will send you on your way with a smile. Thank you Mr. that stays in Haselbury Plucknett sometimes, I hope our chat has made tonight and tomorrow seem a little brighter for you.

Sam, that flower from Yeovil.

It’s a comfort to know that family has always got your back, even when they don’t realise it. No matter what kind of connotations a name brings, connections are connections and that’s what’s got your back when you’re drunk and depressed in the middle of town at 3am.

Leave a Reply

