My Experience Of The Wedding Industry Pt 1: Maid Of Honour Duties

Hello my loverrrs! So, mum’s getting married next year. I’m the maid of honour. Recently, I have had the honour of accompanying her to the dress shops. I’ve had my first taste of what is to come for me in a few years time. I’ve not been overly impressed. It seems that dress shopping is actually rather difficult. I turned up in simple clothing and no make up- easy to take off if I needed to try on dresses, and the dresses remained clean and make up-free after they came off. Others clearly hadn’t had the same idea. Some of the dresses on the rails were dirty. Expensive and dirty. I didn’t find this impressive. Some of them were broken, with beading falling off and it was just remarkable. Of course, these things could be fixed but it makes the browsing experience a bit more difficult. Especially when other shops took better care of their goods: ie, putting them all in dress bags or hanging the trains up with the dress.

Another incident is service. I’ve been to four shops now in my local area. In the first, people were very helpful in showing us where to look but they also weren’t too intrusive. It was good service. In the second shop, there was no service at all. She sat at her desk pretty much all of the time and didn’t attend to us at all, despite the fact we were the only ones in the shop. the third shop was delightful, the woman guided us round and helped us a lot, which was necessary because all of the dresses were in bags to keep them all lovely. In the last shop, the woman attended to us for half of the time but she was not at all helpful and suggested mum wore a bridesmaid dress as her wedding gown. Neither of us were pleased with the suggestion. So, if you happen to be going to dress shops unless you are a size 8, and getting married for your first time, and with less of a refined taste, but with lots of money, service for you may be difficult.

Finding out that the sizes of wedding dresses were inaccurate and pretty much just all lies didn’t shock me at all. The whole clothing industry is unreliable when it comes to sizing but, I won’t bore you with the details, I’ve done an article on those frustrations already.

me in my first dress from the back

Another thing: I’ve realised what the maid of honours job is and I recommend to anybody being elected to take this role: Work out your arms or the dresses will do it for you. Wedding dresses are not light and they can get packed together pretty tightly. After all that heavy lifting, I felt like I was half a stone lighter and could sleep for the next 5 days. I always knew that shopping could be a good bit of cardio but wedding dress shopping is the next level on. There was speed walking to dodge the rain, pulling and lifting of the dresses and non stop standing around. It really was a long day. A 9-5 kind of deal.

in bridesmaid dress

Anyway, this was just a short update on things. You’ll hear more about this soon! Cheerio! xx

2 thoughts on “My Experience Of The Wedding Industry Pt 1: Maid Of Honour Duties

  1. Sad to hear that you haven’t been overly impressed with your wedding shopping experience. The train on that wedding dress is gorgeous! And I love that light blue dress 🙂 !
    I hope when I go wedding dress shopping, that the staff are friendly and helpful… It’s one dress you really want to be just right! X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

