Coming Out Of The Broom Cupboard

Hello everyone. As many of you may, or may not, know I am pretty busy at the moment as far as university and career go. I am in the midst of setting up the first Pagan Society at Falmouth and I am now a writer for Pendle Craft magazine. Very exciting times. I’ve written about it all over Facebook and have exhausted myself in doing so. Many friends and family and general supporters were happy for my news. One such friend asked if this meant that I was finally ‘out of the closet’ about being a Witch. I find this a funny old idea, coming out of the closet. We pagan folk, often call it ‘coming out of the broom cupboard’- a funny play on words. And, after thinking about it in the shower this morning, I don’t think I was ever really in the closet.

From a young age I’d always wanted to be a witch. Back then, of course, I had no idea what real life witches were, but I knew that I had to be something. My parents had told me there were no such thing but it didn’t really stop me in believing in who, I was. I guess you could say this was the first step. Later, as I began to research around fourteen, many of you have probably read my article about ┬áthe journey I took in finding Wicca, in ‘Finding The Magick’. My best friend Caitlin, had bought me a lovely pentacle necklace for one of my birthdays. With confidence, I began to wear it in school. One girl asked about it and said she recognised it from a friend that had also been into Wicca. This was quite exciting. People began to acknowledge my beliefs and I began to acknowledge that there were other people out there that were like-minded. Between school and college, I told my friends about my beliefs and practices, and they didn’t seem to mind, or care much. It was just something that WAS. It was a part of me, it wasn’t my entire identity, just a piece.

So, after the steps that I took out of the so-called ‘Broom Cupboard’ I realised that I didn’t really need to go to the extreme of sitting my family down and having some kind of talk with them. In my eyes, I didn’t see the need to make a huge deal out of my transcendence and personal spiritual journey. It was just something that was. It’s not a secret, by any means, definitely not now, anyway. But a persons religious preferences aren’t something that need to be shared with the entire world. You don’t need to feel as though you need to have a big debate and to justify your choices. This is your life. This is my life. I chose to tell the people that were closest to me. I chose to inform those that took an interest. I didn’t want a big fuss. I wanted the personal to remain personal. I still do.

What’s important is admitting things to yourself. Admitting the truth to everyone else is less important. This going for any truth. These characteristics that make up you, are your concern. You don’t need to have a debate. You don’t need to announce your business to the world. On the other hand, if you want to throw a party because you’ve discovered another piece to the puzzle that is you, then go for it. Nothing will hold you back from either. Just make sure that you know who you are. Everyone else will catch up in the meantime. I don’t see this as being ‘in’ or ‘out’ of the Broom Cupboard. I see this as a walk across a bridge of knowledge. Each step you take to discovering who you are, in important. Others will notice. others will be there to watch your steps. Just keep going and don’t look back.

Thanks for reading guys, see you soon! x

Leave a Reply

