An After Note On Britishness

I was quite surprised to see how well yesterday’s article had been received. I did not believe that I would have such a good day yesterday and wen I saw a just how many people came to read about Britishness, I was astonished. I was equally relieved to find that many people shared my view of Britishness as a concept and as a collection of characteristics a group of people coming from or living on this island may hold. I was also glad to hear that many people also share my crazy notion of freedom of expression and religion. The humour that I had infused in the article was generally taken pretty well. I don’t often play with humour, often finding that things are much funnier when I say them out loud. I would like to therefore thank every one of you that had come over, and hopefully, found pleasure in the reading.

I’m writing this after note for those that perhaps didn’t understand my point, those who didn’t get the humour and were perhaps offended by my piece. This after note is, perhaps a revised statement of the post that I had written about in yesterday’s article. I do not apologise for sharing my opinion, and I do not apologise for having such an opinion. Do I apologise for insulting those that had insulted me? Only a little. I apologise for sinking down a level, while at the same time feeling proud that I was able to pull it off (in most regards) to a pretty high level of wit. It would have taken a lot of foul language and perhaps even threats, to have properly sunken down to the level of those that I had written about. A comment made about the article had quite struck a cord with me, and that was one of the reasons for me writing this after word- because I am better informed than most on that page. That’s not me being arrogant, that’s just me not admitting that a religion and the people that follow it do not scare me. Violence and terrorism scare me, this is true. I can admit that, but I am able to distinguish between terrorists and generally quiet people that just want to survive like the rest of us. I’m able to keep a clear judgement and I have trust that our government and our armed forces will not let tyrants into our country. There are people that aren’t necessarily as educated, that still share my belief. It’s a common pagan belief- To Live and Let Live. If a person beliefs do not strictly affect you. If someone is not hurting you or your loved one, then there is no reason to have hate. There is no reason to get in the way of someone’s happiness because it is not in the same form as yours. There are also people who are as educated as I am and have opposite views. This is ok too. I’m not going to slander your name because you don’t agree with what I’m saying. You’re not a bad person for being afraid, for being set in your ways, for being a cynic. You’re a bad person if you wish harm upon innocent people and you go out of your way to attack people. There is an unspoken code about expressing your opinion. If you’re going to sound like a douchebag, don’t say it. Keep it to yourself and spare peoples feelings. You aren’t the only human being on this planet.

Gosh this keyboard is awful to write on.

I’m currently at university and, in my class about Genre and Form, had spoken about the post I had written about yesterday. My lecturer was intrigued and I was glad that she happened to also share my ideas opinions. She talked about the past reflecting the future and about the importance on picking up these temporal markers. These temporal markers of the past influencing the future is exactly what I had spoken about yesterday when talking about ‘British Pride’ Facebook pages in the context of Adolf Hitler and World War Two. If these things are not addressed. If people don’t write about it; if people don’t comment on these posts, then we are damning ourselves all over again. We might as well build the concentration camps ourselves. We, level headed people, might as well import guns and put them in the hands of our loved ones. That’s the kind of future that this kind of behaviour has me imagining. One where, our great country, is torn apart by bombs and war, just like Syria is. Only, the Muslisms and immigrants wouldn’t have started it. We would have, out of fear and prejudice. These two things are what blind people from truth. How did the German Worker’s Party get away with their evolution and the mass genocide of millions of Jews? The same way groups such as ‘Britain First’ are able to exist. They exploit your fear; they misinform you and they make you angry. They make you so angry that you want to generalise a whole population of people that you have never met before. They make you want to hurt people and burn down sacred places. Before you know it, that’s what will happen.

I’m keeping this short (if that is what this is) and I will sign off here. Have a lovely day and i will see you later x

Leave a Reply

